Hier anrufen

Functional orthodontics in AD (H) S

ADHD / ADD – the real cause may be CMD (craniomandibular dysfunctions)

Craniomandibular dysfunction (CMD) already exists in childhood. “CMD is an umbrella term for structural, functional, biochemical and psychological dysregulations of the muscle or joint function of temporomandibular joints” (Wikipedia). CMD always has a connection with the head joints and the cervical spine.

Trauriges Kind in einem Karton

What does this have to do with ADHD or ADD?

Children with malocclusions or jaw malformations may be disturbed by their resulting dental malfunction (CMD). These may become chronic if the CMD is not treated. Many symptoms of orthodontically affected children are identical to symptoms of ADHD / ADD. It is known that cervical dysfunction can be closely correlated with ADHD / ADD (see also link to study below), CMD always have the connection. For this reason, a direct link can be drawn from dental and orthodontic dysfunction to ADD and ADHD. This is also confirmed by the CMD umbrella organization.

There is an early risk screening advocated, often small corrections of bite and body statics are sufficient to allow a normal development of children. Especially jaw malpositions such as crossbites, symmetry disorders, cover bites, deep bites, back bites and bites can have a strong effect on the head joints, on the cervical spine and on nerve tissue such as brain nerves or spinal cord.

This may cause classic CMD symptoms (see CMD on this website). This includes the restlessness and other symptoms of ADHD / ADD.

Practice in Munich Pasing

Dr. Stefanie Morlok
Landsberger Str. 511
81241 München

08806 / 958630

Practice Utting Ammersee

Dr. Stefanie Morlok
Zur Aussichtswarte 15
86919 Utting am Ammersee

08806 / 958630

Hier anrufen

Funktionskieferorthopädie bei AD(H)S

ADHS/ADS – die wirkliche Ursache können CMD (craniomandibuläre Dysfunktionen) sein

Craniomandibuläre Dysfunktionen (CMD) gibt es bereits im Kindesalter. „CMD ist ein Überbegriff für strukturelle, funktionelle, biochemische und psychische Fehlregulationen der Muskel- oder Gelenkfunktion der Kiefergelenke“ (Wikipedia). CMD haben immer einen Zusammenhang mit den Kopfgelenken und der Halswirbelsäule.

Was hat das mit ADHS oder ADS zu tun?

Kinder mit Zahnfehlstellungen oder Kieferfehlstellungen können durch ihre dadurch entstandene zahnärztliche Funktionsstörung (CMD) in starke Unruhezustände verfallen. Diese können sich bei Nichtbehandlung der CMD chronifizieren. Viele Symptome der kieferorthopädisch betroffenen Kinder sind identisch mit Symptomen der ADHS/ADS. Man weiss, dass HWS-Funktionsstörungen eng mit ADHS/ADS korreliert sein können (siehe auch unten Link zu Studie), CMD haben immer den Zusammenhang. Aus diesem Grund kann ein direkter Zusammenhang von zahnärztlichen und kieferorthopädischen Funktionsstörungen zu ADS und ADHS gezogen werden. Dies bestätigt auch der CMD-Dachverband.

 

Dort wird ein frühes Risikoscreening befürwortet, oft reichen kleine Korrekturen der Bisslage und der Körperstatik, um eine normale Entwicklung der Kinder zu ermöglichen. Gerade Kieferfehlstellungen wie Kreuzbisse, Symmetriestörungen, Deckbisse, tiefe Bisse, Rückbisse und Vorbisse können eine starke Wirkung auf die Kopfgelenke, auf die Halswirbelsäule und auf Nervengewebe wie Gehirnnerven oder Rückenmark haben.

Hierdurch können sich klassische CMD-Symptome (siehe unter CMD auf dieser Website) entstehen. Dazu gehört aber auch die Unruhe und andere Symptome der ADHS/ADS.

Praxis Utting Ammersee

Dr. Stefanie Morlok
Zur Aussichtswarte 15
86919 Utting am Ammersee

08806 / 958630

Praxis in München Pasing

Dr. Stefanie Morlok
Landsberger Str. 511
81241 München

08806 / 958630